Skip to content

Advent Devotional – Sunday, December 23, 2018 – Too Old for Christmas?

Scripture: Luke 2:36-3836 There was also a prophet, Anna, the daughter of Penuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was very old; she had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage, 37 and then was a widow until she was eighty-four.[a] She never left the temple but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying. 38 Coming up to them at that very moment, she gave thanks to God and spoke about the child to all who were looking forward to the redemption of Jerusalem.

Are you an Oldster? I am, or at least that is what my young eleven-yearold “adopted” granddaughter, Natalie, calls me. I’ll take “oldster” over “grumpy old man” any day, wouldn’t you?

As a pastor, I have made innumerable visits to nursing homes and to homebound folks. The cookies and small gifts that my wife, Laura Ellen, and I would bring always seemed so inadequate. But now, having been caroled by a church group while homebound because of heart surgery after my retirement, I realize the best presents don’t come in boxes.

If you are a youngster, then please realize that a simple visit, a card, even a pair of socks can represent a priceless gift. The acknowledgment that we oldsters are still people of value and worth–that God is still with us–is the gift of Christ you bring with your visit.

If you are an oldster, be like my friend Iris, who just celebrated her 100th birthday, and still tells everyone who visits her that God has blessed her all her years and we should love one another. You, like her or the prophetess Anna in Luke’s gospel, can still declare the good news of God’s love in Christ.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, we are all little children in your sight, whatever our age may be. Thank you for your son, Jesus, who promised that you would be with us always. Amen.

  – William Nash Wade – Strasburg, VA

No comments yet

What do you think?