Skip to content

Make Your Talents Count – You’ve Got It Already

Parable of the Talents 2Key Bible Verses:  “The master called his servants and entrusted his wealth to them … each according to his ability.”  Matthew 25:14-15, NIV

Dig Deeper:  Matthew 25:14-30

Let me make an essential point here: God has already given you the talent, ability, skill, money, or passion you need to fulfill his plan, to be entrusted with more, and to walk in pure joy.  That’s one of the key truths of the parable of the talents that many people miss.

Remember?  The master went on a journey.  But before he left, he called his servants in and “entrusted his possessions to them” (Matthew 25:14, NASB et al.).  He passed out five talents to one, two to another, and one to a third, “each according to his own ability,” (v. 15) and then he went on his way.

What I’m trying to show you is that you already have everything you need!  The skill is within you.  The dream is deep inside you.  The plan is in place.  The passion is there.  The ability is woven into your DNA by the Creator himself.

Have you examined your life?  The people within your circles?  The possibilities within your realm?   Will you be faithful in the little things?

Examine your life today.  Don’t make the mistake of saying, “Someday, when I have this, I’ll do that,” or, “When I have more time, I’ll pursue that dream,” or, “When I have more money, I’ll give to this or that organization.”

—Bob Westfall in The Fulfillment Principle

 

My Response: Have I been making these kinds of excuses?  If so, I will repent and make a plan of action.

 

Thought to Apply:  He who waits to do a great deal of good at once, will never do anything.—Samuel Johnson (British writer)

Adapted from The Fulfillment Principle (Leafwood, 2012)

 

Prayer for the Week:  Giver of all good gifts, help me to be aware of the talents with which you have equipped me; give me a vision for ways to use them for your kingdom.

No comments yet

What do you think?