Skip to content

Leading with Love: Beyond the Bottom Line

Undercover Boss 2Key Bible Verse:  And masters, treat your servants considerately.  Be fair with them.  Don’t forget for a minute that you, too, serve a Master—God in heaven.  Colossians 4:1, The message

Dig Deeper: 1 Peter 5:1-4

Before I came to HFE, I had been living by the numbers because numbers were all my leaders seemed to care about.  If I had any deeper principles, I needed to check them at the company door, because once I was at work, it was all about financial performance.

When I performed well, I was rewarded and respected.  When I failed, I felt like I was kicked to the curb.  It was that simple.

Inside I longed for a better way.  I wanted to care about the people I worked with and for.  I wanted to work somewhere that rejected the false dichotomy between profit and people or profit and principles.

But I had been in business long enough to know that was a nearly impossible dream.

My experience at HFE has revolutionized the way I see leadership.  I am convinced that leading with love is the best way to run an organization.  Any organization.

The bottom line is best served when leaders lead with love.

I understand that this is a controversial claim, but I also now understand that it is true.  Love isn’t a feeling, but an action, an action by which leaders and entire organizations can experience almost unimaginable success and personal fulfillment.

 

My Response:  What’s my initial reaction to the idea of leading with love?  Why do I feel this way?

Adapted from Love Works (Zondervan, 2012)

 

 

Prayer for the Week:  Lord, in the situations where I am a leader, help me to submit my pride and ambition to you and lead with love for those who follow.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

