Skip to content

Develop Your Spiritual Insight – Steep Learning Curve

Used CarsWho Said It … John Ensor

John Ensor is Executive Director of the Urban Initiative Program of Heartbeat Inter-national.  H.I. trains Christian communities in providing life-saving, life-changing assistance to women and couples unprepared for pregnancy.

John is completing a two-year effort to establish ultrasound-equipped Pregnancy Help Clinics in needy neighborhoods of Miami, a city with nearly 40 abortion facilities.

John previously served as a pastor and founded a network of six clinics in the Boston area.

 

What He Said … Steep Learning Curve

Because I wanted it badly, I looked right past the red flags.  I ended up back where I started, but poorer, embarrassed, and feeling used and stupid.

I’m talking about a used car.  I went online and was defrauded out of $4,000.  

Proverbs 14:15 had me fingered: “Only simpletons believe everything they’re told!  The prudent carefully consider their steps.”

The webmaster knew about people at their predatory worst who feed on the gullible.  So right there on the website, in a section about online fraud, he spelled out the sure signs to look for.

He also provided straightforward guidelines for doing things right when buying a used car online.  But never dreaming I’d be a victim of fraud, I failed to read the link before barging ahead.

One Proverb (Proverbs 14:12) warns about the path that seems right but ends in death.  I think this refers to our tendency to follow our own judgment without informing it with the wisdom of others or instructing it with a sense of right and wrong, wise and foolish.

Adapted from Doing Things Right in Matters of the Heart (Crossway, 2007)

 

Prayer for the Week:  Lord, help me to so saturate my outlook with your Word that I readily spot whatever counters its teaching.

No comments yet

What do you think?

