Skip to content

Converting to Wind Power – A Life of Its Own

Holy Spirit 2Key Bible Verse:  But you are not controlled by your sinful nature.  You are controlled by the Spirit if you have the Spirit of God living in you.  Romans 8:9

Bonus Reading:  Romans 8:12-14

My hand moved like it had a life of its own, as if detached from my arm.  It was flat, horizontal to the ground, and floating like a leaf on the water.  If there was a ripple of air, it flowed with the ripple.

For an eight-year-old boy, that’s what it was like when I’d put my hand out the window of our car while traveling at 55 miles an hour.  Somehow my hand didn’t belong to me.  I just stuck it in the wind and the wind gave it life and power.

The wind had control of my hand, making it go up or down, forward or backward.  That’s why it didn’t seem like it was mine, because I’d surrendered control to the wind.

How then do you convert your life to wind power, to God’s power?  

Like my hand, you let the wind of God’s Spirit blow over your life.  You detach your life from your own control.  You let go.

You place your life so that it floats on the wind of God’s power, and let him empower you.  You place your life in the wind of God’s power, and let him control you.  You place your life with the wind of God’s power, and let him lead you.

—Joe Williams in Ohio

 

My Response:  Am I increasingly becoming an instrument in God’s hand (Rom. 6:13)?

 

Thought to Apply:  The Spirit’s control will replace sin’s control.  His power is greater than the power of all your sin. —Erwin Lutzer (Illinois pastor)

 

 

Prayer for the Week:  I’m not strong enough, Lord, to live up to your standards on my own.  Teach me how to rely on the internal power your Spirit provides.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

