Skip to content

Radical Repentance – A Load of Sin

1884 Methodist Hymnal - #532 - O That My Load of Sin Were Gone

1884 Methodist Hymnal – #532 – O That My Load of Sin Were Gone

Who Said It … Luis Palau

Luis Palau leads the Luis Palau Association—a ministry committed to innovative evangelism worldwide.  He’s shared Christ with more than 1 billion people through such avenues as television, radio, the internet, and festivals.  

Luis has authored nearly 50 books, including A Friendly Dialogue Between an Atheist and a Christian.  He and his wife, Pat, live in Portland, Oregon, and have 11 grandchildren.

 

What He Said … A Load of Sin

Fernando Montero had wealth, prestige, power, influence.  Armed with an MBA from Harvard University, he had climbed the political ladder to become Columbia’s secretary for defense. A t age 37, he ran the nations army and directed its attacks against the powerful Cali drug cartel.  Then something went terribly wrong.

Accused of financing the president’s political campaign with drug money, Fernando landed in a military penitentiary.  Prison officials cut him off from contact with the outside world.

Eventually a friend smuggled a Bible into Fernando’s cell, urging him to read Romans.  The book both intrigued and confused him.

During a visit to Colombia, I was asked to try to visit Fernando.  I agreed.  I thought the guards would turn me away at the gate, but to my surprise, they let me in.

I entered the compound and spent 45 minutes with the weary Fernando.  He told me he had read Romans, but said, “I just don’t get it.”  It became clear that Fernando’s main problem was the load of sin he carried.

Adapted from High Definition Life (Revell, 2005)

 

Prayer for the Week:  Dear Father, help me to know that in you there is no condemnation and nothing can ever separate me from your love.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

