Skip to content

Letting God Lead – Giving Up the Right to Lead

Let God LeadWho Said It … Bill Hull

Bill Hull has a passion for helping the church return to its disciple-making roots.  So much so that he considers himself a “discipleship evangelist.”   Having fine-tuned his unique perspectives through 20 years of pastoral service, Bill currently oversees a discipleship ministry called Choose the Life.

Bill’s latest book for the serious Christ-follower is Christlike: The Pursuit of Uncomplicated Obedience.

Bill and his wife, Jane, live in Long Beach, California, and are the parents of two adult sons.

What He Said … Giving up the Right to Lead

The deepest sin of my life is holding on to the right to lead my own life.  

I am a high achiever.  I like to be in control.  I enjoy accomplishment.  I love to “go for it.”  I like to think that I have all kinds of options available to me, that I can create, create, create.  

If I want to be transformed, I have to give that all up.  I first confess my sin of insisting on leading my own life.

That is how I got started on the road to becoming a true disciple.  I humbled myself and asked God to lead me.  I know it sounds trite and common, but when you get it, when you understand what it means to choose the life of following Jesus, it is the most liberating experience in life.

Jesus said it for us: “No one can serve two masters.  Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other” (Matthew 6:24, NIV).  We must choose.

Adapted from Choose the Life (Baker, 2004)

 

Prayer for the Week:  Lord, it’s easy to say I follow you; it’s much harder to show it by the way I live; help me, with your empowering Spirit, to choose daily to live in obedience to your calling.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

