Skip to content

Returning Good for Evil: Deion Gets Personal

BaseballKey Bible Verse:  When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats.  Instead he entrusted himself to him who judges justly.  1 Peter 2: 23

 

Bonus Reading:  1 Samuel 24: 1-7

Deion Sanders recalls the following incident from his life:  I remember playing in the outfield during a Reds game down in Houston, and there was some loudmouth out there yelling at me, “Deion, you *#*!*?* jerk.  You garbage.  You suck!”  

I didn’t know if I was going to be able to take much more of that, so at the end of the inning I ran over to the wall where this guy was sitting, and when I was about ten feet away I just said, “Hey, man, you know what? God loves you. God bless you!”  After that I didn’t hear a peep out of him the rest of the night.

But we had another game down there the next night, and this time there was a whole group of them screaming obscenities and acting hateful, and I went over to where they were sitting and I said, “Man, I’m just so thankful to be here.  God is good, and He loves you too.  God bless y’all!”

As I trotted back to my position in the outfield, one of those guys stood up and yelled at me, “Hey, Deion, you don’t have to get personal!”  That really got to them.  I never heard another word from them after that either.

—- Deion Sanders in “Power, Money, & Sex”

Prayer for the Week:

Father, give me a heart of love for the people You died for.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

