Skip to content

Fight the Flab – Breakthrough

Dieter on a ScaleKey Bible Verse:  No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening—it is painful! But afterward there will be a quiet harvest.   Hebrews 12: 11

Bonus Reading: Hebrews 12:1-4, 11-13

After college and marriage, it was easy to put on weight and get out of shape.  A year ago I committed to taking the “sag” out of my sagging waistline.  Day after day I worked hard on cardiovascular exercise and weight training, seeming to get nowhere.  Straining.  Sweating.  Sucking wind.  Questioning my sanity.

But after several months a quantum leap occurred.  Weight began to drop off.  Muscle began to get toned.  And endurance increased significantly.

Medical friends tell me that during the constancy of working out, regardless of how I felt, a whole new freeway system of small blood vessels and capillaries was forming within my body.  Then, when they decided it was time for a “grand opening,” more blood came flooding into the muscle tissue; the resultant benefits seemed exponential.

Likewise, when we’re walking through deep trials, God is building up a secondary support system of endurance, so we’ll be better prepared the next time adversity comes our way.  I say “the next time” because just about everyone I meet is coming out of, in the middle of, or getting ready to go into some adversity!  God loves you too much to let you go through it alone.

—Bob Reccord in Forged by Fire

My Response: How can I override my natural resistance and chalk up real gains?

Adapted from Forged by Fire (Broadman & Holman, 2000

Prayer for the Week

Lord, I want to become a disciple You can count on; grant me self-discipline to get started.

No comments yet

What do you think?

