Skip to content

Lenten Devotional – Day 18 – Ruts

Scripture Readings:  Genesis 45:1-15;   1 Corinthians 7:32-40;   Mark 6:1-13

They were speechless—they couldn’t believe what they were hearing and seeing.  (Genesis 45:3)

This is a difficult set of passages to discern. But as I touched them with my eyes, a pattern of themes began to spin a strong thread. There are three sturdy strands to grasp and with which to construct beauty: Jesus is rejected in Mark by his very kinsmen and women; Paul instructs on godly inspiration in one’s <ahem> personal life; Joseph shows compassion toward his brothers who are penitent.

Rejection.            Penitence.            Inspiration.

Isn’t that the flow of life sometimes? I feel rejection often and reject God more often than I should. I find if I can humble myself enough and ask forgiveness, I often find inspiration to pick myself up, usually feeling grateful and a little ashamed, but able to cheerfully return to my gifts. Like Joseph’s brothers though, I don’t believe my heart’s eye at seeing forgiveness. It is the inspiration in itself where I find comfort and a way back to my path.

I’m a preschool teacher; I go through this process several times a day some days. I’m also a mother to two <amazing> teenagers; I go through this process with them several times an hour some days!

I pray if you find yourself stuck in a rut, you’ll talk with God, the generous three in one. Open your heart, and let it pour out. With God’s help, you will grasp your strands and weave a beautiful braid of Inspiration.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

