Skip to content

Lenten Devotional – Day 15 – In the Storm

Scripture Readings:  Genesis 43:1-151 Corinthians 7:1-9Mark 4:35-41

A great gale arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that the boat was already being swamped. But he was in the stern, asleep on the cushion; and they woke him up and said to him, “Teacher, do you not care that we are perishing?” He woke up and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” Then the wind ceased, and there was a dead calm. (Mark 4:37-39)

Feeling God’s grace and presence in the middle of the storms in my life is something I hope for on a daily basis. I have felt a lot like Job these past months. My Spirit knows that God is with me, but I would be happier if I could see God lying on a cushion next to me in the chaos that envelops my life. I need my Savior, and I don’t like waiting. This chaos will pass, but why can’t it be over now.
My gut feels like I’m on Space Mountain riding in the dark, getting jerked around and pushed side-to-side with job cut backs, financial concerns, betrayals, humiliation, and threats at every side.

I want to blink and open my eyes to “…it’s a small world after all, it’s a small, small world.” That would be God’s grace My way, but I am not in control of all these changes. I can control my response though—my thoughts, my words, my deeds—to these changes. “If it be Thy will, please take it from me, Lord; no really, Lord, take it from me. I don’t think I can take another hit. I am letting go!”

In no time a friend shows up and helps me get through the rough spots.” I am assured that these gifts are God’s gifts to calm me. When I cry out, “Do you not care that I am perishing?” the answer comes quickly. “Yes, you know that I care, we care, your sisters and brothers around you care. You are not alone in this chaos. Stay close to me, listen to me, follow me, rest in me and all shall be well; all manner of things shall be well.”

Today, I feel like I’m drowning, but the water is clean. I can see the light at the surface. Listening to the still voice within me, I can battle back to the light. Sometimes God lets the storm rage and calms His child.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

