Skip to content

Lenten Devotional – Day 7 – Choose

jesus-our-hopeScripture Readings:  Genesis 37:25-361 Corinthians 2:1-13Mark 1:29-45

A leper came to him begging him, and kneeling he said to him, “If you choose, you can make me clean.” Moved with pity, Jesus stretched out his hand and touched him, and said to him, “I do choose. Be made clean!” (Mark 1:40-41)

Some choices are so easy. Shall I have a few cookies with my coffee in Sunday School. Will I sit with my friends at lunch or with the couples further down the table? Some choices are harder, like having no cookies because it’s Lent or sitting with the person that’s a little crabby and unfocused. I’ll miss out on all the fun, but I think I know what Jesus would have me choose. And maybe I can make this a better time for that isolated person so he doesn’t have to miss out.

And what about during the service? What can I do ,to inspire others feel closer to God or actually empower other’s and myself, with God’s help, to go serve. I can listen and smile back (so she knows I’m listening) or I can actually hear what she’s saying. What’s this about our choices during Lent? We could give up something, like those cookies, or we could choose to take something on, something big. All I have to do is choose, listen to that still small voice, and choose.

Prayer:  Dear Lord, I do choose. I choose to reach out. Please help me to know what it is You would have me do, and give me the courage to accomplish it, in Your name. Amen.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

