Skip to content

Lenten Devotional – Day 6 – Unpack for Lent

jesus-our-hopeScripture Readings:  Genesis 37:12-241 Corinthians 1:20-31Mark 1:14-28

Now after that John was put in prison. Jesus came into Galilee preaching the gospel of the kingdom of God. And saying. The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand: repent ye, and believe the gospel. (Mark 1:14-15)

 Usually when I’m getting ready for a trip, I am busy packing, deciding what I will need for the journey. This journey requires unpacking, putting aside everything but my love for God. There will be no packed suitcases on this trip.

 During Lent is a good time for thinking about what we don’t need and most importantly, what we do need. We do need time, quality time listening for God’s word for us. I’m sure that God quite often gets a “busy signal” when He’s trying to give me guidance.

 So what am I striving for during this Lenten season? My desire during this Lent is to create a habit of spending more quiet time listening for His words of guidance for me, and most important of all, following them.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

