Skip to content

Lenten Devotional – Day 4 – Give It to God

jesus-our-hopeScripture Readings:  Ezekiel 39:21-29;  Philippians 4:10-20;  John 17:20-26

And my God will fully satisfy every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.Philippians 4:19

How easy it is for me to forget Paul’s promise—and it echoes through all of today’s readings. When I start my day putting all of my concerns for health, money, work and other people in God’s hands and ask for His direction, I have a great day. So why do I forget and try to control and manipulate the community around me to do things my way?

I saw a t-shirt for another church recently—“Don’t just GO to church” and on the back it said “BE the church,” and it struck me how well it paraphrases our readings today. God has continuously shown us: Forgiveness, Restoration and Faithfulness.

But do I show it to others when I am away from the church? Do I show it when the bank makes a mistake in my account? Do I show it when I hear over 120 elementary children at our school have no permanent address? Do I show it when a stranger has a drug or alcohol addiction and asks for a handout? Usually not. I forget they are part of my community.

How can I live out John’s action plan? “… So that the world may know that you have sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. I made your name known to them, and I will make it known, so that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them” (John 17:23, 26).

I will pray the Prayer attributed to St. Francis daily to help me be a channel for God’s love. I am also promised that God can change my mind and heart and direct my actions today. Fully Rely on God. May God’s Forgiveness, Faithfulness and Restoration be shown in our lives and our communities.

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

