Skip to content

Advent Devotional – Wednesday, December 28, 2016 – Put On The Armor of God

hope-is-born-advent-devotional-210 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. 11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14 Stand therefore, having your loins girt about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness; 15 and your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God: 18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;19 and for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in bonds: that therein I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.  – Ephesians 6:10–20

Today, I am thinking about my strengths.  There are so many skills, abilities, and traits God has blessed me and you with.  And I am so thankful.  Yet, whenever I consider these gifts, I also begin thinking of my weaknesses.  Why did God forget to sprinkle those in when he was creating me?  Didn‘t He say in the Bible that I am perfect?  That I was made in His image?  Of course He said that.  And He meant it.  But why, you may ask, do I have weaknesses?

Those weaknesses, my friends, are not from God, but rather from the dark world trying to hold me back. And they are trying to hold you back as well. The forces of evil want you to believe that you are not capable.  That you are not smart enough.  Or pretty enough.  Or strong enough.  Or bold enough.  Or whatever it is that is holding you back.  The dark world is tricking you.  It is the Fruit of the Spirit that you need to cultivate in order to be more Christ-like.

As I reflect on today‘s verses, I realize that it is time to join God‘s army and fight hard.  Put your armor on and get ready for battle.  Know and trust that with God, all things are possible.  This is the day, the week, the year to overcome the powers of this dark world that are making you believe you are weak.  Be brave.  Immerse yourself in the Truth that will set you free for eternity.  Do not allow the evil one to bring you down.

Pray constantly for God‘s light to shine through you, that you be filled with the Fruit of the Spirit, and for God‘s plans to become clear to all.  And as Paul does in these verses, ask for others to pray for you.  Use the word of God to OVERCOME YOUR WEAKNESSES.  And know that every day is a new battle.  Do not dwell on the past nor feel like your battle is ever complete while on Earth.

It is through these battles that we become stronger.  And not stronger for our gain, but rather stronger to be everything God intended us to be.  There‘s no better demonstration of appreciation for God‘s gift of Jesus than ―extinguishing all the flaming arrows of the evil one. I now invite you to locate and listen to the song ―City on Our Knees by Toby Mac.  Listen to the words and imagine how you‘re going to wear the armor of God and what that means for you and those around you.

Put On Your Armor In Appreciation of The Gift of Jesus

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

