Skip to content

The Genuine Article – Now What Went Wrong?

christian-humilityKey Bible Verse: Humility precedes honor.  – Proverbs 15:33

Bonus Reading: Psalm 138:6; Prov. 18:12; 22:4; 1 Peter 5:5

As soon as our medical products company placed a sale, we’d contact the involved distributors from our network to ship their supplies immediately. It’s bad news when vital products such as anesthesia or surgical supplies are unavailable.

One day I placed my order with a distributor, who, instead of filling it, back-ordered the product. Since the order didn’t arrive when promised, an upset hospital administrator called me. Explaining that I’d done all I was supposed to, I deflected blame to the distributor. “Cut the crap!” the administrator shot back. “This is your fault. Come in with your manager next week.” Just then [today’s Key Bible Verse] sprang to mind. “I’ll take full responsibility for this problem,” I told him.

When we met with the administrator, he told my manager everything he thought I was doing wrong. “Thanks for your feedback,” I replied. “It’s a privilege to serve you and your hospital. This incident will make me a better sales representative. From now on I’ll double-check that critical orders are properly expedited.”

A week later, the administrator called me again. Aw, man, I thought, now what went wrong? But to my shock, he gave me a huge volume of business that normally would have taken months to cultivate.

—David Stoddard in The Heart of Mentoring

My Response: I observed humility precede honor when …

Thought to Apply: The truly humble person walks with absolute confidence, knowing he is simply a vessel through whom God accomplishes his work. —Andrew Murray

Adapted from The Heart of Mentoring (NavPress, 2003)

Prayer for the Week:  Shape me, Lord, into a genuine Christ-follower: confident and secure but not self-promoting or arrogant; unassuming but no pushover.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

