Skip to content

Take the Divine Dare – Cleared for Takeoff

listenKey Bible Verse: Peter called to him, “Lord, if it’s really you, tell me to come to you, walking on the water.” “Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat …  Matthew 14:28-29

Bonus Reading: Matthew 14:25-32

A house we rented in Los Angeles had a small window that opened from the second-story bathroom onto the roof. One evening Kim and I were in the front yard when we heard a voice from the roof calling, “Mom, Dad, look!” It was Aaron, our 8-year-old, on the ledge.

Kim ordered him back inside. But looking past his mom, he asked, “Dad, can I jump?”

I asked Aaron, “Are you going to jump sometime?”

He said, “Yeah, I think so.”

I said, “Okay, I’d rather have you jump now so if you jump and break your legs, we can take you to the hospital.”

He responded, “Dad, do you think I’ll make it?”

“I said, “You’ll make it. But try to clear the concrete and land on the grass. It’s softer.”

He stepped as far back as he could on the roof, yelled,  “Dad, catch me,” began running, and jumped.

We’ve been telling followers of Christ, “You climb back in that window. Stay in a safe place.” But we have a Father who invites us to follow him with reckless abandon. He knows when this is a jump you need to take.

—Erwin McManus in The Barbarian Way

My Response: A jump I sense the Spirit prompting me to take is …

Thought to Apply: if the highest aim of a captain were to preserve his ship, he would keep it in port forever. —Thomas Aquinas (Italian theologian & philosopher)

Adapted from The Barbarian Way (Nelson, 2005)

Prayer for the Week: I want to live for something bigger than myself, Lord. Give me courage to take the risks that go with the rush of having a significant impact for your kingdom.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

