Skip to content

Walk Away from Worry – It’s in My Genes

trusting-in-godWho Said It … Brandon O’Brien

Brandon O’Brien is assistant editor of Men of Integrity’s sister publication, Leadership Journal, and moderates its blog. He also prepares downloads for BuildingChurchLeaders.com.

Brandon and his wife Amy are members of Immanuel Presbyterian Church in Warrenville, Illinois, where he plays guitar and teaches Sunday school.

What He Said … It’s in My Genes

I hail from a long line of worriers. From my dad, I inherited an inability to sleep until I resolve whatever issue is currently on my mind; from my mom, I received a proclivity for stomach aches before exams.

Of course some concerns are well founded. One Saturday night I went to sleep unprepared for the sermon I was set to deliver the next morning. I dreamed all my biblical studies professors, previous pastors, and mentors arrived at church to hear me preach, only to discover that I was shooting from the hip. I woke up in a cold sweat and worked on my sermon till morning.

I’d like to think my tendency to worry is evidence of my unwavering sense of responsibility. Truth is, worry reveals a deep-seated self-reliance. I might say with Oliver Cromwell, “Put your trust in God; but mind to keep your powder dry.”

But when I remember God’s faithfulness in the past, and that he alone has brought me through, I’m able to replace worry with worship. Then my faith isn’t in my keeping the powder dry, but in God’s promise to secure the victory.

Adapted from PreachingToday.com (Fall/80).

Prayer for the Week: You’ve told me, God, to give You my worries because You care about me. Help me hand them over.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

