Skip to content

Escape and Evasion – Ambushed

Avoiding TemptationKey Bible Verse: Equally amazing is how an adulterous woman can satisfy her sexual appetite, shrug her shoulders, and then say “What’s wrong with that?” Proverbs 30:20

Bonus Reading: 1 Corinthians 10:12-13

After I spoke at a men’s retreat, the corporate executive grabbed my arm and asked to speak with me privately. His eyes were red with strain and tears were running down his cheeks.

He trembled as he blurted out, “I had sex with a person that I worked with. She was just an employee who worked for one of the supervisors. I had no physical attraction to her and had never even thought about her sexually.

“I was going to the office costume party and needed to change after work,” he explained. “I went into a back room where we stored supplies and was changing my clothes for the party.

“She walked in the door and I was in my underwear. She didn’t hesitate as she walked over to me and just embraced me. Within a minute or two, we were in a passionate frenzy that included intercourse. It was finished in less than five minutes.

“She redressed, turned, and walked out of the room to the party. I stood there in a daze. For months now we’ve seen each other at work, but neither of us has even mentioned the encounter. I have a great marriage. I’m sick because of what I did, and feel I’ll never be able to get over it.”

—Wayde Goodall in Why Great Men Fall

My Response: I’ll pray today for strength to overcome such temptations.

Thought to Apply: It takes two to make a successful temptation, and you’re one of the two.—Source Unknown

Adapted from Why Great Men Fall (New Leaf, 2005)

Prayer for the Week: Lord, our culture preys on my vulnerabilities. I need Your strength to stand tall and true.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

