Skip to content

How Does God Feel About Feelings? – Not an Emotional Guy

Faith and FeelingsKey Bible Verse: I took my troubles to the Lord; I cried out to him, and he answered my prayer.  – Psalm 120:1

Dig Deeper: Psalm 77

Joe was a tall and athletic man in his mid-50s. He had grown up on the Sand Hills of western Nebraska and had been a cattle rancher all of his life. When he came into my counseling office the first thing he said was, “I want you to know that I’m just not an emotional kind of guy.”

He went on to explain that some people, especially women, have a lot of emotions and some people don’t. He was convinced that he was someone who didn’t have or need many emotions.

That stoic philosophy had worked for most of his life. However, when land prices fell and he found out that his wife had cancer, his emotion-free world began to crumble, and he discovered that he didn’t have the resources to deal with all of his newly discovered emotions.

Here’s the deal. Some people are more aware of their emotions than others, but the experience of emotions isn’t optional. Regardless of gender, age, race, or socioeconomic level, emotions are an integral part of our standard equipment.

The only thing that’s optional is how we choose to express them. I can’t always choose what I’m going to feel. But I can choose how long I feel it. With God’s help we can change our emotional pattern.

—Gary Oliver in Mad About Us

My Response: When it comes to how I respond to or deal with my emotions, one change I might need to make is …

Thought to Apply: There can be no transforming of darkness into light and of apathy into movement without emotion.—Carl Jung (Swiss psychiatrist)

Adapted from Mad About Us (Bethany, 2007)

Prayer for the Week: Dear Father, thank you that you are a God who feels deeply and that you created me with deep feelings, too; help me to own my feelings and learn to express them in ways that bring honor to you.

 

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

