Skip to content

Witness – Putting It on the Line

Mardi GrasKey Bible Verse: I live in … hope … that I will always be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past, and that my life will always honor Christ, whether I live or die.  – Philippians 1:20

Bonus Reading: Acts 4:1-22

Bill Lane, my former prof, mentor and confidant, was as courageous a man as I’ve ever known. He once preached on the streets in Amsterdam, carrying a cross and experiencing such hostility from the crowds that he later said he believed he understood better what Jesus experienced on the way to Golgotha.

I’ve seen pictures of him preaching on the streets at Mardi Gras, when he was accosted by a group of Hell’s Angels. “If I slapped you in the face would you turn the other cheek?” a burly biker said as he prodded Bill from the crowd.

“Yes,” Bill responded quite calmly.

Then the man drew a line with his foot, warning Bill not to talk about Jesus any more and that if he crossed the line, he’d “knock him down.”

Bill stepped across the line, fully expecting to be punched. But he had to show the crowd of young students that he was unwilling to be silenced for Christ because of this one man. As he moved within reach of the biker, there was a moment of tense silence. Then all at once the man erupted, “You’re all right.” He patted Bill on the back and disappeared into the crowd.

—Michael Card in The Walk

My Response: A time I really put my faith on the line was …

Thought to Apply: One man with courage makes a majority.  —Andrew Jackson (seventh U.S. president)

Adapted from The Walk (Nelson, 2000)

Prayer for the Week: Lord, I want my life to carry a bold witness for You and Your kingdom. Give me the courage to follow through.

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

