Skip to content

From Career to Calling – What Is My Calling?

From Career to CallingJeremiah’s 40-year career was an assignment from God. As a prophet to Judah, he never achieved material success or influence, and often became discouraged.

But he remained faithful to his depressing task through imprisonment, the fall of Jerusalem (which he had warned about), and deportation.

Interact with God’s Word

Jeremiah 1:4-10

  1. What words did God use (vv. 5, 10) to describe His action in giving Jeremiah his life’s work?
  2. Do you see this assignment as arbitrary or based on God’s intimate knowledge of Jeremiah’s potential?
  3. What was the nature of Jeremiah’s assignment?
  4. What did Jeremiah say (v. 6) made him unqualified for this assignment?
  5. How did God deal with Jeremiah’s objection?
  6. Do you respond to new challenges with self-confidence?
  7. Are you confident that if God gives you a job to do He will provide all you need to do it?
  8. Did God’s promise to protect Jeremiah (v. 8) insulate him from trouble?
  9. Do you believe God has given you a specific call or assignment?
  10. If not, what mission, common to all believers, should you pursue—unless or until His guidance becomes more specific?

Spend Time in Prayer:  Ask God for an understanding of what His calling for you is, and for your ability to reflect glory on Him as you fill it cheerfully, competently, and diligently.

Jeremiah 1:4-10

4 The LORD gave me a message. He said, 5 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my spokesman to the world.” 6 “O Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!”

7 “Don’t say that,” the LORD replied, “for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you. 8 And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and take care of you. I, the LORD, have spoken!” 9 Then the LORD touched my mouth and said, “See, I have put my words in your mouth!

10 Today I appoint you to stand up against nations and kingdoms. You are to uproot some and tear them down, to destroy and overthrow them. You are to build others up and plant them.”

Prayer for the Week: Lord, let me know clearly the work You are calling me to do in life. And grant me the courage, love, and lasting dedication to answer Your call. —Saint Meinrad

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

