Skip to content

How to Dis Discontent – 4-Wheel Dream

Contentment 2Key Bible Verse: Those who love money will never have enough. How absurd to think that wealth brings true happiness! Ecclesiastes 5:10

Bonus Reading: Ecclesiastes 2:10-11

In a class I taught on money, I asked one husband, “Peter, if you could drive any car you wanted and didn’t have to pay for it, what would it be?”

With a wide grin, he replied, “A Ford F-250 V-8 pickup truck, every option, extended cab, four-wheel drive with a topper and a ski rack.”

“Should we make it diesel?” I asked.

Bigger grin. “Yeah, let’s make it diesel.”

“Peter,” I followed up, “Say you may have a new Ford like that every year for the rest of your life. However, the trade-off is that you’ll never be content. Or you can drive a 1996 Ford Taurus that’s seen better days. The trade-off is that you’ll always be content. Which do you choose?”

Peter sat there stunned and undecided. He’d always thought, When I get to this level and have these things, then I’ll be content. Was that his conscious thinking? No. Was it his practical behavior? Yes.

As is true for most of us. Our culture has conditioned us to believe our contentment is something “out there.” “When I get the right job …” “When we can afford to move to a larger house …” “When we can afford to retire …”

“When” never gets here.

—Neil Atkinson in The Shrewd Christian

My Response: To move the basis of my contentment from “out there” to “in here,” I need to …

Adapted from The Shrewd Christian (WaterBrook, 2004)

Prayer for the Week: Lord, make me grateful for Your past blessings, confident of Your future provision, and at peace with my current circumstances.

 

No comments yet

What do you think?

