Skip to content

An Inside Job – Passed Over

Denied PromotionKey Bible Verses:  “Riches and honor come from you alone … and it is at your discretion that people are made great and given strength.” 1 Chronicles 29:12-13

Bonus Reading:   James 3:13-18

When the CEO of our import-export company resigned, I believed I was the natural choice to replace him.  However, another person was appointed.  I was told by the board that my contributions were valuable to the corporation and that they very much wanted me to remain as chief operating officer.  But for me, a dream of many years had been shattered in seconds.

Bitterness and resentment swept over me, permeating my work and everything else.  I secretly applauded any slip by the new CEO.  As I allowed my emotions to spiral out of control, I knew I was heading for a crash.

Six weeks after the announcement, I began to see and understand a larger question: Either I believed in God’s providence and that He was sovereign, or I didn’t!  The issue was not my promotion or even the success of the company.  The issue was my spiritual attitude, and that was my responsibility to correct.

So rather than continuing to grouse, I began focusing my efforts on fixing my attitude and improving my job performance.  Shortly thereafter, the new CEO resigned unexpectedly, and I was promoted.  With my new perspective and attitude, I was ready.

—Steve Marr in Arizona

My Response: Since God is in control, I must surrender resentment about …

Thought to Apply: Keep your heart right, even when it is sorely wounded. — J.C. Macaulay (Christian educator)

Prayer for the Week:  I can cope with external challenges, Lord, if I’m internally aligned with Your will.  Help me to think like a true Christian this week.
No comments yet

What do you think?

