Skip to content

Be Grateful for…Thanksgiving Day

Happy ThanksgivingBible Verse for Thanksgiving Day:  Since everything God created is good, … receive it gladly, with thankful hearts.  – 1 Timothy 4:4

In September 1975, I left California to enter college in Massachusetts.  For the next 75 days, I lived in a freshman dorm, a rather Spartan existence, but not an unpleasant one.

Since I couldn’t afford to go home for Thanksgiving, I traveled by bus to central Connecticut to join some family friends for the holiday.  On Thanksgiving Eve, as I retired to my room, I slipped off my shoes and socks to unpack my bags.  I felt the carpet under my bare feet, enjoying the softness and the feel of the threads between my toes.

Suddenly it dawned on me that I hadn’t felt a carpet like this since I’d left home.  For two-and-a-half months, I’d felt only dusty linoleum underneath my bare feet.  But now, in a real home, I delighted in the sumptuousness of wall-to-wall carpet.

I had grown up in a home with carpet—bronze shag, to be exact.  But I had never appreciated the feel of carpet beneath my feet until that moment.

How could something so ordinary feel so enjoyable?  I wondered what else I’d been taking for granted.  That weekend in Connecticut added several other items to my list of newly discovered appreciation, including ceramic mugs, quiet nights, and a bathroom heater.

—Mark Roberts in No Holds Barred

 

Thought to Apply:  I feel a very unusual sensation.  If it is not indigestion, I think it must be gratitude.  – Benjamin Disraeli (English prime minister)

Adapted from No Holds Barred (WaterBrook, 2005)

 

 

Prayer for the Week: Move me, Lord, beyond appreciation for desires granted to gratitude for all Your wisdom allows.

No comments yet

What do you think?

